Near Enough to Touch, Strong Enough to Trust.

Wow. Ever read a book by Max Lucado? If you have then you understand me. If you haven’t then you NEED to. The book I read is Next Door Savior.

Max Lucado delivers a way for us to look at Jesus in an extremely personal way. He gives us grounds and interpretations of the Word, that makes us pause a look at Jesus as not just our Savior but as a next door savior, someone we can walk right up to and hold a conversation. A savior who understands the pain, the hurt. the temptation that is alive in this world. A savior who is more than willing to bear the burden of our sins and still look us in the eyes with compassion and love. There is no shame or guilt in Jesus. Max reassures us of this.

I read my bible, quite often too. Yet to have Jesus broken down in such a way, just completely changed the way I view Jesus. There’s a chapter called The Trashman, sounds odd but it paints a quaint picture of what Jesus did for us on the cross. He took our trash and heaved it on himself. He took the stench and washed it away. He took the heaviness, the weariness and washed it away. 

  Never before have I ever, read a book so profound and simply put. Majority of the words you know already. The verses can be easily looked up. The difference is the authority and the loved and the presence of God. It’s as if God said write this so my children can become better acquainted with my Son. Or if Jesus said write a representation of who I am, so my brothers and sisters can understand me better, so they can understand the compassion and love I have for them. 

   And Jesus I get it! Thank You for inspiring these words. Thank You for putting it on Max Lucado’s heart to write a book that is aimed to bringing me, and other readers closer to YOU. So we can understand the love, compassion and understanding You offer us. 

{FYI: I got this book from the publisher, Thomas Nelson, for the purpose of this review. This is my honest opinion, and no I wasn’t paid. lol}

Leave a comment